

# Building Brighter Futures Together at the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board



## SPECIAL BOARD PUBLIC MINUTES

## Tuesday, May 9, 2023 Confederation Education Centre

Trustees Present: Alysha Aziz, Justine Bell (electronic communication), Donna

Blackburn, Donna Dickson, Lyra Evans (electronic communication), Jennifer Jennekens, Nili Kaplan-Myrth, Matthew Lee, Cathryne Milburn, Suzanne Nash, Amanda

Presley, Lynn Scott, Antong Hou (Student Trustee)

Staff Present: Michele Giroux (Director of Education), Brett Reynolds

(Associate Director of Education), Randy Gerrior (Associate Director, Business Operations), Janice McCoy (Executive Officer, Corporate Services), James Proulx (Executive Officer, Information Technology and Digital Transformation), Sandy Owens (General Manager, Business & Learning Technologies),

Diane Pernari (General Manager of Communications &

Information Services), Nicole Guthrie (General Manager, Board Services), Michael Guilbault (Content Creator, Digital Multimedia

Technician), Marco Paladino (Training & Support Specialist),

James Baker (Board/Committee Coordinator)

#### 1. Call to Order -- Chair of the Board

Chair Nash called the public meeting to order at 10:02 p.m. She acknowledged that the meeting is taking place on unceded Algonquin Homelands and thanked the Algonquin Nations for hosting the meeting on their land.

## 2. Approval of the Agenda

Moved by Trustee Blackburn, seconded by Trustee Scott, THAT the agenda be approved.

Carried

## 3. <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

No declarations were filed.

### 4. Matters for Action

#### 4.1 Receipt of Committee of the Whole Public Minutes (oral)

#### 1. 9 May 2023

## 1. Approval of P.073.GOV Board Member Code of Conduct

Moved by Matthew Lee

Seconded by Donna Blackburn

THAT the proposed changes to Policy P.073.GOV Board Member Code of Conduct, attached as Appendix A to Report 23-036, be approved, as amended (Attached as Appendix A).

For (12): Alysha Aziz, Justine Bell, Donna Blackburn, Donna Dickson, Lyra Evans (electronic communication), Jennifer Jennekens, Nili Kaplan-Myrth, Matthew Lee, Cathryne Milburn, Suzanne Nash, Amanda Presley, and Lynn Scott

Carried (12 to 0)

## 4.2 Appointment of Members to Ad Hoc Policy Review Committee

Chair Nash provided an overview of the membership requirements for the Ad Hoc Policy Review Committee. She advised that four trustee members were required along with the Chair of the Board acting as an ex-officio member.

Chair Nash called for nominations.

Trustee Presley, seconded by Trustee Kaplan-Myrth, nominated Trustee Milburn.

Trustee Aziz, seconded by Trustee Milburn, nominated Trustee Kaplan-Myrth.

Trustee Scott, seconded by Trustee Presley nominated herself.

Trustee Kaplan-Myrth, seconded by Trustee Milburn, nominated Trustee Aziz.

Moved by Trustee Presley, seconded by Trustee Milburn,

THAT nominations be closed.

#### Carried

By acclamation, Chair Nash declared Trustees Aziz, Kaplan-Myrth, Milburn, Scott, and Lyra Evans acting as ex-officio, as the members of the Ad Hoc Policy Review Committee.

#### 5. Matters for Information

There were no matters for information.

## 6. <u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting was adjourned at 10:09 p.m.

Suzanne Nash, Acting Chair of the Board