

Building Brighter Futures Together at the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board



BOARD PUBLIC MINUTES

Tuesday, May 30, 2023, 7:30 pm Board Room Administration Building 133 Greenbank Road Ottawa, Ontario

Trustees: Alysha Aziz (electronic communication), Justine Bell, Donna

Blackburn, Donna Dickson (electronic communication), Lyra Evans, Jennifer Jennekens, Nili Kaplan-Myrth, Matthew Lee, Cathryne Milburn (electronic communication), Suzanne Nash, Lynn Scott, Tabarak Al-Delaimi (Student Trustee, electronic

communication), Antong Hou (Student Trustee)

Staff: Michele Giroux (Director of Education and Secretary to the

Board), Brett Reynolds (Associate Director of Education), Janice McCoy (Executive Officer of Corporate Services), James Proulx

(Executive Officer, Information Technology and Digital

Transformation), Paula Hall (Superintendent of People, Culture and Leadership), Amy Hannah (Superintendent of Instruction), Reg Lavergne (Superintendent of Instruction), Shawn Lehman

(Superintendent of Instruction), Richard Sinclair (General

Counsel), Pamela LeMaistre (General Manager, People, Culture and Leadership), Sandy Owens (General Manager, Business & Learning Technologies), Diane Pernari (General Manager, Communications), Nicole Guthrie (General Manager, Board Services), Michael Guilbault (Central Audio/Visual Technical

Specialist), Mellissa Applewaithe (Board/Committee

Coordinator)

1. Call to Order -- Chair of the Board

Chair Lyra Evans called the public meeting to order at 7:34 p.m.

2. Acknowledgement of Territorial Lands

Chair Lyra Evans acknowledged that the meeting is taking place on unceded Algonquin Homelands and thanked the Algonquin Nations for hosting the meeting on their land.

3. Presentation of Community Awards

Chair Lyra Evans announced the following recipients of the 2022-2023 Community Recognition Awards:

- Community Award Natalie Merchant, Glen Ogilvie Public School Community;
- Community Partnership Award Gloucester Lacrosse Association;
- Distinguished School Council Award Janet Bowen;
- Excellence in Equity Award Mandeep Singh;
- Excellence in Equity Award Manock Lual; and
- Volunteer of the Year Jenna Hansen.

4. <u>Presentation of Chair's Award</u>

Chair Lyra Evans presented the Chair's Award to Dr. Jim Magwood.

***The meeting went into recess at 7:48 p. m. ***

The meeting resumed at 7:55 p.m.

5. Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were filed.

6. Report from the Committee of the Whole (In Camera)

The Board met in camera this evening and Vice-Chair Bell reported that there were no recommendations.

7. Approval of the Agenda

Moved by Trustee Aziz, seconded by Trustee Scott,

THAT the agenda be approved.

Carried

8. Briefing from the Chair of the Board

During the briefing from Trustee Lyra Evans, the following information was provided:

- Several Ottawa-Carleton District School Board (OCDSB) students will receive an award at the 2023 Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) Spirit of the Capital Awards ceremony on 29 June 2023, including Student Trustee Tabarak Al-Delaimi; and
- Construction of a new elementary school in Findlay Creek and a new high school in Riverside South is expected to commence in June and July 2023.

9. Briefing from the Director

During the briefing from Director Giroux, the following information was provided:

- The annual Director's Citation and Employee Recognition Awards were held on 30 May 2023; and
- Pride Month begins on 1 June 2023 in Ontario and around the world. The OCDSB Pride Flag will be raised at all schools.

10. Confirmation of Board Minutes

10.1 25 April 2023

Moved by Trustee Kaplan-Myrth, seconded by Trustee Nash,

THAT the Board Minutes, dated 25 April 2023, be confirmed.

Carried

10.2 9 May 2023 Special Board

Moved by Trustee Lee, seconded by Trustee Nash,

THAT the Special Board Minutes, dated 9 May 2023, be confirmed.

Carried

11. Business Arising from Board Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

12. Matters for Action

12.1 Receipt of Committee of the Whole Report

12.1.a 9 May 2023

Moved by Trustee Blackburn, seconded by Trustee Nash,

THAT the Committee of the Whole report, dated 9 May 2023, be received.

Carried

12.2 Non-Consent Items

There were no items of non-consent.

12.3 Report 23-043, Appointments to the Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA) for 7 July 2023 to 7 July 2024 (J. McCoy)

Your committee had before it Report 23-043, seeking confirmation of appointments to the Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA) for 7 July 2023 to 7 July 2024.

Chair Lyra Evans called for nominations for the positions of director to the Board of Directors.

Trustee Nash, seconded by Trustee Lee, nominated Trustee Scott.

Trustee Kaplan-Myrth nominated Trustee Lyra Evans.

There was no seconder for the nomination.

The nomination for Trustee Lyra Evans failed.

Trustee Lee, seconded by Trustee Scott, nominated Trustee Jennekens.

Trustee Bell, seconded by Trustee Kaplan-Myrth, nominated Trustee Milburn.

Moved by Trustee Blackburn, seconded by Trustee Lee,

THAT nominations be closed.

Carried

Chair Lyra Evans called for nominations for alternate directors:

Trustee Nash, seconded by Trustee Jennekens nominated herself.

Trustee Scott, seconded by Trustee Jennekens nominated Trustee Dickson.

Trustee Bell, seconded by Trustee Kaplan-Myrth, nominated Trustee Milburn

Trustee Jennekens, seconded by Trustee Dickson, nominated Trustee Blackburn.

Moved by Trustee Jennekens, seconded by Trustee Scott,

THAT nominations be closed.

Carried

Moved by Matthew Lee

Seconded by Suzanne Nash

THAT

A. Trustee Jennekens and Scott_be appointed as the two directors to the OPSBA Board of Directors, the voting and alternate delegates for the Eastern Regional Council meetings, and the voting and alternate delegates for the OPSBA Annual General meeting for the period 7 July 2023 to 7 July 2024; and

B. Trustee_Milburn and Nash be appointed as the two alternate directors to the OPSBA Board of Directors for the period 7 July 2023 to 7 July 2024.

For (11): Alysha Aziz, Justine Bell, Donna Blackburn, Donna Dickson, Lyra Evans, Jennifer Jennekens, Nili Kaplan-Myrth, Matthew Lee, Cathryne Milburn, Suzanne Nash, and Lynn Scott

Carried (11 to 0)

13. Matters for Discussion

13.1 Report from OPSBA Representatives (if required)

Trustee Scott reported that she and Trustee Jennekens will attend the OPSBA conference and Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 8 to 10 June 2023. All trustees are welcome to attend.

14. Matters for Information

Trustee Lee reported that the Ottawa Student Transportation Authority (OSTA) would communicate transportation funding changes to trustees. He noted that OSTA has published planned mitigation measures to address the shortfall on their website.

Trustee Lee noted that the applications portal for the empty seat program is now open and that forms are available from school principals.

15. New Business -- Information and Inquiries

Trustee Nash, Trustee Dickson, Trustee Bell and Trustee Kaplan-Myrth reported on OCDSB schools that they had visited with Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs).

Trustee Nash requested that the Board support Councillor Jeff Leiper in his request to amend the Ottawa noise bylaw due to the impact of the Claridge Homes construction close to Devonshire Community Public School.

Chair Lyra Evans confirmed the Board was in agreement and noted that trustees would write a letter of support for submission.

16. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 8:32 p.m.

l vra F	vans. (hair	of tha	Roard