



# SPECIAL COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE PUBLIC REPORT

### Tuesday, January 16, 2024, 6:00 p.m. Board Room Administration Building 133 Greenbank Road Ottawa, Ontario

- Trustees Present: Alysha Aziz, Justine Bell (electronic communication), Donna Blackburn, Donna Dickson, Lyra Evans, Jennifer Jennekens, Matthew Lee, Cathryne Milburn, Suzanne Nash, Amanda Presley, Lynn Scott, Emma Hong (Student Trustee), Malaika Kamanzi (Student Trustee)
- Staff Present: Pino Buffone (Director of Education), Brett Reynolds (Associate Director of Education), Randy Gerrior (Associate Director, Business Operations), Michele Giroux (Executive Officer, Corporate Services), Paula Hall (Superintendent of People, Culture and Leadership), Shawn Lehman (Superintendent of Instruction), Richard Sinclair (General Counsel), Shannon Smith (Superintendent of Instruction), Peter Symmonds (Superintendent of Learning Support Services), Carolyn Tanner (Human Rights and Equity Advisor), Karyn Carty Ostafichuk (General Manager, Planning/Transportation), Stacey Kay (General Manager, Learning Support Services), Pamela LeMaistre (General Manager, People Culture and Leadership), Sandy Owens (General Manager, Business & Learning Technologies), Diane Pernari (General Manager, Communications & Information Services), Nicole Guthrie (General Manager of Board Services), Michael Guilbault (Central Audio/Visual Technical Specialist), David Suriano (Planner), Mark Keough (Planner), Susan Baker (Committee Coordinator)

Non-VotingSeema Lamba (ACE), Lili Miller (IEC), Stephanie Kirkey (OSSTFRepresentatives- District 25), Jean Fulton-Hale and Rebecca Shields<br/>(OCSSAN), Jamieson Dyer (OCEOTA), Tom Holloway<br/>(OCASC)

1. <u>Call to Order - Vice-Chair of the Board</u>

Vice-Chair Milburn called the meeting to order at 6:12 p.m.

2. <u>Acknowledgement of Territorial Lands</u>

Vice-Chair Milburn acknowledged that the meeting is taking place on unceded Algonquin Territory and thanked the Algonquin Nations for hosting the meeting on their land.

3. <u>Declarations of Conflict</u>

No declarations of interest were filed.

4. Approval of Agenda

Moved by Trustee Aziz,

## THAT the agenda be approved.

Carried

5. <u>Delegations</u>

There were no delegations.

### 6. <u>Matters for Discussion:</u>

6.1 <u>Report 24-001, Education Development Charges - Existing By-law Policy</u> <u>Review (R. Gerrior)</u>

Your Committee had before it Report 24-001, to provide information to support a legislatively required meeting in order to review the policies contained within the District's existing Education Development Charges (EDC) By-law.

General Manager Carty-Ostafichuk provided an overview of the report. She introduced Consultant Cynthia Clarke from Quadrant Advisory Group Limited who was in attendance to answer questions on the report.

During discussion and in response to queries, the following points were noted:

- EDCs may be collected when growth exceeds overall capacity in the District during the life of the By-Law, or if there is a deficit in the District's EDC By-law account;
- Last year there were 26 of 72 school districts in Ontario that qualified for the collection of EDCs;
- Private schools, long term care homes, retirement homes, and child care centres are not eligible for the collection of EDCs;
- The District has identified a need for an additional 24 elementary and 5 secondary schools over the next 15 years;
- The District has some latitude when determining rates for EDCs;

- New housing in Wateridge Village and LeBreton Flats may be eligible for the collection of EDCs if they generate a need for an additional school to accommodate at least 600 students;
- EDCs may not be used to build additions to, or refurbish, existing schools;
- The October enrolment report, usually published in February of each year, includes enrolment projections for existing schools and identifies areas where there is a need for new schools;
- Developers set aside land for school sites that districts may acquire at fair market value; and
- The City of Ottawa collects EDCs for the District when it issues building permits for new developments.

## 7. <u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

Cathryne Milburn, Chair