







# SPECIAL BOARD PUBLIC MINUTES

Monday, June 10, 2024 Board Room Administration Building 133 Greenbank Road Ottawa, Ontario

**Trustees Present:** 

Alysha Aziz (electronic communication), Justine Bell (electronic communication), Donna Blackburn, Donna Dickson, Lyra Evans, Jennifer Jennekens (electronic communication), Nili Kaplan-Myrth (electronic communication), Matthew Lee (electronic communication), Cathryne Milburn (electronic communication), Suzanne Nash, Amanda Presley (electronic communication),

Lynn Scott, Emma Hong (Student Trustee, electronic

communication)

Staff Present:

Pino Buffone (Director of Education), Brett Reynolds (Associate Director of Education), Randy Gerrior (Associate Director, Business Operations), Michele Giroux (Executive Officer, Corporate Services), James Proulx (Executive Officer, Information Technology and Digital Transformation), Reg Lavergne (Superintendent of Instruction), Richard Sinclair (General Counsel), Janice McCoy (Superintendent of People Culture and Leadership), Peter Symmonds (Superintendent of Learning Support Services), Teri Adamthwaite (General

Manager, Finance), Stacey Kay (General Manager of Learning Support Services), Sandy Owens (General Manager, Business & Learning Technologies), Diane Pernari (General Manager of

Communications & Information Services), Nicole Guthrie

(General Manager, Board Services), Michael Guilbault (Content Creator, Digital Multimedia Technician), Kathy Mak

(Board/Committee Coordinator)

Guests Present: Jamieson Dyer (OCEOTA), Melodie Gondek (OSSTF - ESP),

Tracy Shapiro (OCSSAN), Stephanie Kirkey (OSSTF - TBU),
Anthony Wong (SEAC), Nina Stanton (IEC), Susan Rab (OSSTF

- OTS)

# 1. <u>Call to Order -- Chair of the Board</u>

Chair Scott called the public meeting to order at 8:11 p.m.

### 2. Acknowledgment of Territorial Lands

Chair Scott acknowledged that the meeting is taking place on unceded Algonquin Homelands and thanked the Algonquin Nations for their stewardship of these lands since time immemorial.

#### 3. Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were filed.

#### 4. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

Moved by Trustee Lyra Evans, seconded by Trustee Nash, THAT the agenda be approved.

#### Carried

#### 5. Action Items

- 5.1 Report from the Committee of the Whole, Budget, 10 June 2024 (oral)
  - 1. Approval of 2024-2025 Staff Recommended Budget

Moved by Trustee Aziz, seconded by Trustee Lyra Evans,

- A. THAT the unconsolidated 2024-2025 operating budget of \$1,169,323,005 as presented in Report 24-080, 2024-2025 Staff-Recommended Budget and detailed in the 2024-2025 Staff-Recommended Budget Binder be approved; and
- B. THAT the 2024-2025 capital budget of \$127,838,114 as presented in the 2024-2025 Staff-Recommended Budget Binder, be approved.

Trustee Lyra Evans and Trustee Kaplan-Myrth expressed concern that the budget is insufficient to support students and staff of the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board (OCDSB). They stressed that it was created to balance expenditures with the funding that was provided by the Ministry, and urged the community to advocate with the province to prioritize public education to ensure that students have sufficient funding and resources they need to succeed.

Trustee Nash assumed the Chair.

Noting her concern about the inadequate Ministry funding, Trustee Scott expressed the view that the OCDSB staff and educators can still provide a quality education to students that will allow them to excel. The District has worked hard to accommodate funding shortfalls, and the Board will continue to advocate for additional resources to meet the increasing complexity of student needs.

Trustee Scott resumed the Chair.

Moved by Alysha Aziz

Seconded by Lyra Evans

THAT the unconsolidated 2024-2025 operating budget of \$1,169,323,005 as presented in Report 24-080, 2024-2025 Staff-Recommended Budget and detailed in the 2024-2025 Staff-Recommended Budget Binder be approved; and

THAT the 2024-2025 capital budget of \$127,838,114 as presented in the 2024-2025 Staff-Recommended Budget Binder, be approved.

For (12): Alysha Aziz, Justine Bell, Donna Blackburn, Donna Dickson, Lyra Evans, Jennifer Jennekens, Nili Kaplan-Myrth, Matthew Lee, Cathryne Milburn, Suzanne Nash, Amanda Presley, and Lynn Scott

Carried (12 to 0)

# 6. <u>Matters for Information</u>

There were no matters for information.

# 7. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 8:22 p.m.

Lynn Scott, Chair of the Board