



SPECIAL BOARD PUBLIC MINUTES

Tuesday, September 10, 2024 Board Room Administration Building 133 Greenbank Road Ottawa, Ontario

- Trustees Present: Justine Bell (electronic communication), Donna Blackburn, Donna Dickson, Lyra Evans, Nili Kaplan-Myrth, Matthew Lee, Cathryne Milburn, Suzanne Nash (electronic communication), Amanda Presley, Lynn Scott, Peter Symmonds (Superintendent of Learning Support Services), Jeffrey Zhang (Student Trustee), Sharanya Sivasathiyanathan (Student Trustee), Ezio De Stefano (Student Trustee)
- Staff Present: Pino Buffone (Director of Education), Brett Reynolds (Associate Director of Education), Randy Gerrior (Associate Director, Business Operations), James Proulx (Executive Officer, Information Technology and Digital Transformation), Shawn Lehman (Superintendent of Employee Services), Richard Sinclair (General Counsel), Brent Smith (Superintendent of Program & Learning), Kate Stoudt (Superintendent Learning Support Services), Nadia Towaij (Superintendent, Special Assignment), Sandy Owens (General Manager, Business & Learning Technologies), Diane Pernari (General Manager of Communications & Information Services), Janice McCoy (Executive Officer, Corporate Services (Interim))), Jesse Mark (Legal Counsel, Kenan Omercajic (Strategic Business Analysis), Michael Guilbault (Content Creator, Digital Multimedia Technician), Kathy Mak (Board/Committee Coordinator)
- 1. <u>Call to Order -- Chair of the Board</u>

Chair Scott called the public meeting to order at 7:34 p.m.

2. Acknowledgment of Territorial Lands

Chair Scott acknowledged that the meeting is taking place on unceded Algonquin Homelands and thanked the Algonquin Nations for their stewardship of these lands since time immemorial.

3. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>

Moved by Trustee Dickson, seconded by Trustee Lyra Evans,

THAT the agenda be approved.

Carried

4. <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

No declarations of interest were filed.

5. <u>Report from Committee of the Whole In Camera, 10 September 2024 (Oral)</u>

Seconded by Cathryne Milburn

THAT, as per Section 30(1) of Regulation 181, the Board accepts the recommendation of the Special Education Appeal Board held on 24 June and continued on 4-5 September 2024 and so indicates to each of the persons indicated in Regulation 181, Section 29 (1).

For (10): Justine Bell, Donna Blackburn, Donna Dickson, Lyra Evans, Nili Kaplan-Myrth, Matthew Lee, Cathryne Milburn, Suzanne Nash, Amanda Presley, and Lynn Scott

Carried (10 to 0)

6. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 7:38 p.m.

Lynn Scott, Chair of the Board