







ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON EQUITY REPORT

December 18, 2024 6:00 pm Trustees' Committee Room 133 Greenbank Road Ottawa, Ontario

Voting Members: Seema Lamba, Inini McHugh (Inuuqatigit Centre), Chandonette

Johnson (Jaku Konbit), Maria Teresa Garcia (Ottawa

Community Immigrant Services), Olga Grigoriev

(Tungasuvvingat Inuit), Deepika Grover, Doug Kendall (Spiritual

Care in Secondary Schools)

Non-Voting Members: Jacqueline Lawrence (Diversity and Equity Advisor), Mary Jane

Farrish (Superintendent of Instruction), Donna Dickson (Trustee)

Staff and Guests: Amal Abdulgader (Ottawa Community Immigration Services

Ottawa), Lynn Scott (Trustee), Kathy Mak (Board/Committee

Coordinator)

1. Welcome

Acting Chair Lawrence called the meeting to order at 6:11 p.m.

2. Acknowledgement of Homelands

Acting Chair Lawrence acknowledged that this meeting is taking place on unceded Algonquin Homelands and acknowledged and thanked the Algonquin Nations for their stewardship of these lands since time immemorial.

3. ACE Membership List (Effective January 2025)

Superintendent Farrish introduced Report 24-134, seeking to confirm and appoint new members to the Advisory Committee on Equity (ACE).

Moved by Doug Kendall,

THAT the ACE appoints the following individual members and community organizations for the terms identified:

Name	Position Term Limit
1. Glover, Jason	Individual Member 2024-2026

2. Hincke, Ray (Rachel)	Individual Member 2024-2026
3. Khan, Mohammed Zakir Houssain	Individual Member 2024-2026
4. Khan, Tabassum	Individual Member 2024-2026
5. Moran, Christine	Individual Member 2024-2026
6. Shaker, Ali	Individual Member 2024-2026
7. Speevak-Sladowski, Menasheh	Individual Member 2024-2026
8. Srinivas, Tejas	Individual Member 2024-2026

Inuuqatigiit Centre for Inuit Children, Youth and Families (McHugh, Nopiming)	Community Organization 2024-2025
2. Jewish Federation of Ottawa (Sachs, David)	Community Organization 2024-2025
3. Muslim Association of Canada (Awad, Amy)	Community Organization 2024-2025
4. Palestinian Canadian Congress (Koussih, Soufiane)	Community Organization 2024-2025
5. Spiritual Care in Secondary School (Kendall, Douglas)	Community Organization 2024-2025

During the discussion and in response to queries, the following information was provided:

- Community members will be assigned to a one year term to provide additional outreach opportunities for community members who may have interest and to ensure a wider variety of voices can be heard in the committee;
- Superintendent Farrish clarified that the Committee can begin to consider the types of community outreach as early as January 2025 to ensure community organizations are made aware of ACE prior to the next membership campaign;

- A number of applications were submitted after the ACE membership deadline on 6 December 2024 and were not considered. There will be opportunities for ACE to invite community non-members to participate through formal subcommittees;
- ACE members noted the importance of orientation and ensuring the members are focused on the work of the committee. Superintendent Farrish added that orientation will be organized through Board Services and will place additional emphasis on the ACE policy;
- The code of conduct applies to all Ottawa-Carleton District School Board (OCDSB) community members, Board Services will provide additional information on the process to resolve or investigate a violation;
- ACE members suggested that the District ensure that the perspectives and ideas of ACE members are respected to ensure productive discussions:
- Trustee Scott noted that new members will require time to understand the work and relationship between ACE and the Board;
- The chair will have the authority to facilitate discussions to ensure behaviour is regulated. Trustee Scott offered to coach the new chair of ACE; and
- ACE members thanked and acknowledged Acting Chair Jacqueline Lawrence for her service and care in the role of Co-Chair over the past year and recognized her skillful management.

Moved by Doug Kendall,

THAT the ACE appoints the following individual members and community organizations for the terms identified:

Name	Position Term Limit
1. Glover, Jason	Individual Member 2024-2026
2. Hincke, Ray (Rachel)	Individual Member 2024-2026
3. Khan, Mohammed Zakir Houssain	Individual Member 2024-2026
4. Khan, Tabassum	Individual Member 2024-2026
5. Moran, Christine	Individual Member 2024-2026
6. Shaker, Ali	Individual Member 2024-2026

7. Speevak-Sladowski, Menasheh	Individual Member 2024-2026
8. Srinivas, Tejas	Individual Member 2024-2026

1. Inuuqatigiit Centre for Inuit Children, Youth and Families (McHugh, Nopiming)	Community Organization 2024-2025
2. Jewish Federation of Ottawa (Sachs, David)	Community Organization 2024-2025
3. Muslim Association of Canada (Awad, Amy)	Community Organization 2024-2025
Palestinian Canadian Congress (Koussih, Soufiane)	Community Organization 2024-2025
5. Spiritual Care in Secondary School (Kendall, Douglas)	Community Organization 2024-2025

4. <u>Adjournment</u>

The meeting adjourned at 7:14 p.m.

Jacqueline Lawrence, Acting Chair