







COMMUNITY MEMBER RECOGNITION AWARDS SELECTION COMMITTEE REPORT

Friday, March 7, 2025, 2:45 p.m. Virtual

Trustees Present: Donna Dickson, Jennifer Jennekens, Cathryne Milburn, Lynn Scott

Staff Present: Jesse Mark (General Counsel, Governance & Legal Services)

1. Call to Order

General Counsel Mark called the meeting to order at 2:48 p.m.

2. Election of Chair

Trustee Jennekens nominated Trustee Scott as Chair of the Community Member Recognition Awards Selection Committee. Trustee Scott accepted the nomination.

By acclamation, Trustee Scott was declared as Chair of the Committee.

Trustee Scott assumed the Chair.

3. Matters for Discussion:

3.1 Award Program Plans

The successes and challenges of the program were discussed. There was consensus that there is value in maintaining some aspects of the program in the short term while the committee considers other long-term changes.

Moved by Trustee Milburn,

THAT the administration of the following awards created pursuant to Policy P.013.GOV, Community Member Recognition Awards Program, and specifically identified in PR.636.GOV, be temporarily paused









while the committee considers recommendations for changes to the program regarding its longer term viability and sustainability:

- Community Award;
- Distinguished School Council Service Award;
- Volunteer of the Year Award;
- Community Partnership Award;
- Excellence in Equity Community Award; and
- Community Award for the Arts.

Carried

4. <u>Upcoming Meeting Dates</u>

The next meeting of the committee will be held with enough time for any recommendations to be received and implemented by the Board before the annual Board organizational meeting in the Fall of 2025.

5. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:16 p.m.

Lynn Scott, Chair, Community Member Recognition Awards Selection Committee